5+5=6+4? Dots and Boxes

16 replies. Last post: 2007-12-14

Reply to this topic Return to forum

5+5=6+4?
  • wccanard at 2007-07-03

I am still learning things about computing the values of loony endgames. I've been thinking about the problem on and off for a month but here is something that only occurred to me yesterday. If a position has two isolated 5-chains (and a bunch of other stuff) and when neither player is looking, someone changes the board slightly so that one 5-chain becomes a 6-chain and the other becomes a 4-chain, is the new game equivalent to the old one? The moral reason as to why this might be the case is that by the time either player is considering opening an isolated 4-chain the rest of the game must be so simple that they must just be playing out the endgame. But I am not convinced by that argument and in fact am not convinced that 5+5 does equal 6+4 in this context. On the other hand I do wonder whether perhaps 50+50=60+40 in the sense that by the time someone is opening an isolated 40-chain, surely the game is essentially over in some sense? If 50+50=60+40 but 5+5 doesn't equal 4+6 then a natural question would be to ask where the cut-off occurs. Also, I guess in the back of my mind I'm thinking about an arbitrary (finite) dots and boxes game, but it could perhaps be the case that 5+5 doesn't equal 6+4 in this generality but it does equal 6+4 on a 5x5 board?

Any ideas anyone?

wc

• Carroll at 2007-07-03

Well I think you lack a nice game theory for D&B to tackle that.

If you had one where the value of the game could be describbed in terms of options: G=, and \|G\|=cv(G)=\|\| could you write somehow that if Right has control and left lose at least n with option G1 (smallest chain?) the value of the game is \|\| with n<=m<=…<=z ?

With this notation, let compare a sum of a loony game G with either 5+5 or 4+6 with the hypothesis that playing a chain, the smallest will be played :

\|G+5+5\| = \|\|

where

\|G+4+6\| = \|\|