Tori Shogi rules Other games

3 replies. Last post: 2015-02-17

Reply to this topic Return to forum

Tori Shogi rules
  • David Rockwell at 2015-02-16

    It is my understanding of the rules that a swallow must promote to a goose when it moves into the promotion zone.  Promotion is mandatory.  

    I had a game where a swallow did not promote.  It appears that the rules have not been properly programed with respect to this point. 

    Would someone take a look at this?

  • William Fraser at 2015-02-16

    I agree with David Rockwell.
    According to http://www.chessvariants.org/shogivariants.dir/tori.html:

    Whenever a ‘Swallow’ or ‘Falcon’ makes a move wholly or partly within the Promotion Zone the piece assumes its promoted rank. The ‘Swallow’ promotes to a ‘Goose’ and a ‘Falcon’ becomes an ‘Eagle’. 

    It should be noted that unlike in Shogi, promotion is compulsory. 


  • David Rockwell at 2015-02-17

    Is there a way to submit a request that programming be fixed (as time permits)?


Return to forum

Reply to this topic




Include game board: [game;id:123456] or [game;id:123456;move:20] or [game;id:123456;move:20;title:some text]