Pie5: a new and unique gomoku-like game to test Gomoku, Connect6

12 replies. Last post: 2010-11-16

Reply to this topic Return to forum

Pie5: a new and unique gomoku-like game to test
  • epicurus at 2010-11-07

Hi,

I have created a new gomoku-like game, called Pie5, and I have playtested several time. But I'm not good at Gomoku so I would really like to have someone more expert than me testing it. Can someone do it, please?

Thank you in advance.

RULES:

The board is an 8x8x8 hexagonal one (as Havannah).

Black chooses two empty cells (we can mark this with a third colour), and white chooses which one will be black and which one will be white. White do the same: he chooses two empty cells (we can mark this with a fourth colour), and black chooses which one will be black and which one will be white. And so on.

The winner is the first player to get five (or more) stones in a row. If both players get 5 in the same moment, the winner is the player who has chosen the colours, so the looser is the player who has chosen the cells.

• Julius Sneezer at 2010-11-08

this is a good, original idea. i tested it on a chinese checkers board (5x5 havannah board on inner hexagon). it has the same property that connect 6 has: after each turn, black and white have same number of stones on board, which probably means it is fair (no first-move advantage, which makes sense since it's based on the pie-rule). it is probably possible for this game to end in a draw, so the rules should probably be specific about draws. and to avoid draws, i think a larger board would be better, larger even than 8x8x8, i would say.

also, iggc has a 'sandbox' feature which allows testing of games with generic board game equipment.

• epicurus at 2010-11-09

Hi Plastique,

really really thanks for your reply.