Advise on how to improve my Breakthrough AI? Breakthrough

4 replies. Last post: 2007-09-21

Reply to this topic Return to forum

Advise on how to improve my Breakthrough AI?
  • Eric Idema at 2007-09-20

I just released Breakthrough on my website at:

http://vying.org/games/breakthrough

I'm fairly new to the game (I haven't even played here at LG, yet, though I'm going to join a tournament now), and I think my AI is probably pretty weak. I'd love it if some more experienced players could give me some suggestions for improving its play.

Right now, I think the AI is too focused on capturing and a count of pieces remaining. I think it might be better to look at squares that are defended, and how complete a wall they form…

Thanks,

Eric

• MichaeI X at 2007-09-21

Well, Vegabot, claiming to be smarter than Capellabot, seems not to count the material at all, which makes her very vulnerable.

In general, be defensive: when exchanging pieces, avoid being the first to capture, because the second one usually ends in a better position.

Don't advance too fast. Rather keep the change to get defending pawns to keep the balance until opponent has no choice but to start the exchange.

But dont be too late, when it is suddenly just a count of moves how long it will take…

The trick is being the first to realize when to switch from defending to the final race.

Now it's up to you, to translate that into AI.

• graff at 2007-09-21

Overall, I think it's difficult to build a good Breakthrough AI because of just how far a good player can look ahead to the end of the game. I've managed to see a win in about 13-15 moves but I think Ray's best is in the range of 30-40 moves.

• Eric Idema at 2007-09-21