10 replies. Last post: 2007-03-12Reply to this topic Return to forum
Yes, it is first draw on LG.
In the LOA homepage (link from the LG rules page), it says:
“If a move simultaneously creates a win for both the player moving and the opponent, the player moving wins”.
But in the LG rules, this is defined as a draw.
What is “correct”, or what is most logical?
When the inventor of this game first spoke about it, the rules were draw in such a case. Later he changed his mind, so there would be no draw and the moving player wins.
Richard's rules said from the beginning that it's a draw.
I think the most logical idea is draw, because both players bring all of checkers together into a contiguous body at same time.
a single player bring the checkers of both players into a contiguous body.
it is just a point of view :)
The inventor changed his mind probably because he thought that among expert players draw by simultaneous connection would be quite common.
However, practice demonstrate that it is a very rare situation and a draw by repetition is the normal case of draw (but less that 1% of the games are draws).
So a draw for double connection is a good choiche
It is a pity Whide drew, they could instead have won by
22.e3-b3 23.e7-c5 (forced)
24.b6-c6 mates in one…
Oops mistake, it is a mate in 4 but first move is 23. f5-d7…
Another good reason for a draw: The game becomes even more interesting. The moving player doesn't have to beat the stone of the opponent, he can probably avoid this and connect (as first) later. If he can't do this because he would lose, he has to take the opponent's stone. So it's a forced move.
In my oppinion such a close game, with forced moves, should be rewarded for both players, so it's a draw.