maybe there is a problem of cheating in othello Reversi forum

13 replies. Last post: 2009-09-15

Reply to this topic Return to forum

maybe there is a problem of cheating in othello
  • pitirre at 2009-09-02

the other day im playing at playok and was playing several othello games; i was losing each one. i dont mind, im new at this game and losing is part of the process. But while i was playin a chat window opened and this fellow told me, out of the blue, that i can use an othello program. maybe he was watching my games and felt sad…i dont know, but his advice was to cheat.

is my 1rst time this have happened to me. i have play GO, chess, backgammon and others but never someone had ask me to cheat. maybe there is something about othello that impulse people to cheat.

by the way, i did an experiment. instead of playing the games with 10 minutes each, i reduce it to 3; thinking that maybe a game within 3 minutes wont give time to cheat to some players. i win a few after this.

• wccanard at 2009-09-02

Maybe the Pope is a catholic.

• Marius Halsor at 2009-09-02

NO! Really? I was sure he was buddhist…

• quartastella at 2009-09-02

The problem with Othello/Reversi is that computers are greatly superior to human beings because the game is so complex (each move can change the color of up to 22 discs and the whole game).

Unfortunately, this is why many great players avoid turn-based sites and choose instead to play only 1 or 2 minutes games.

• Player8083 at 2009-09-02

well, technically the reason computers are so good is because the game is so simple mathematically compared to chess/go etc, but I see your point.

• quartastella at 2009-09-02