how to bot Hex, Havannah

16 replies. Last post: 2020-02-07

Reply to this topic Return to forum

how to bot
  • Tom Ace at 2019-10-17

If no one else wants to offer bots for download, how hard is it to set one up?  I have some spare time.

Can anyone say where the bots we see playing here got their code from?  Is there more than one flavor?  I downloaded code from

https://notes.jasonljin.com/projects/2018/05/20/Training-AlphaZero-To-Play-Hex.html

but I am new to Python and don't have all the required libraries on hand.  To gear up to run this might be a bit of work, which is OK but it would be nice to know if this is the right starting point or if other code is preferable.

If I get a bot running I would be happy to offer it for others to download.

Or would any of the people running bots here be kind enough to offer downloads (hint, hint).

• Arek Kulczycki at 2019-10-17

I do not have any spare time but if by any chance I will have, then I would like to help. I would like to learn some machine learning and generally Im a python backend developer so maybe Im able to at least understand some of the existing code ;)

• Arek Kulczycki at 2019-10-17

Tomorrow I download the code and have a look

• gzero_bot at 2019-10-18

Just wanted to point out that gzero has been available to “download” since the first line of code was written.  It is a GGP bot, not a hex bot however, and it isn't exactly double click and away you go.

Here:

https://github.com/richemslie/galvanise_zero

and for models:

https://github.com/richemslie/gzero_data/tree/master/data/hexLG13

all trained models for other games can be found in the gzero_data repo also.

If anyone wants the training data so they can continue where I left off, I can give you access via ssh/scp.

• gzero_bot at 2019-10-18